Fighting To Get It In

· dgs's blog

I've now made all my brackets, detoured via tidying up the wiring and I'm now on getting it in. This car was designed to take a 6 gallon MG Midget tank. I'm trying to get a 10 gallon tank in. It is not going well.

Tank fouling on the axle

The tank is catching on the diff cover of the axle. I may be able to get away with taking the rear cover off, or I may have to drop the axle from the car.

Tank hanging out of the rear

I need to get the tank a bit further forward to get the rear edge in the bodywork and then rotate it horizontally before buttoning it all up.

# Shipping

Tangentally related rant. I wanted to buy a gasket for the diff cover, and Burton Power sell one for £6.95. However, they want £8 to post it to me! No thanks, eBay will win that one.

Mastodon